Posted by: Adam Deane | 10/01/2011

PKBoK: The truth is out there

BPM X-FilesSECTION CHIEF: Agent Mulder has developed a consuming devotion to an unassigned project outside the bureau mainstream. Are you familiar with the so-called “PKBoK-Files“?

SCULLY: I believe it has to do with unexplained phenomena of Business Process Management.

SECTION CHIEF: More or less. The reason you’re here, Agent Scully, is we want you to assist Mulder on these PKBoK-Files. You will write field reports on your activities, along with your observations on the validity of the work.

(The Cigarette-Smoking Man stubs out his cigarette.)

SCULLY: Am I to understand that you want me to spy on Agent Mulder, sir?

SECTION CHIEF: Agent Scully, we trust you’ll make the proper scientific analysis. You’ll want to contact Agent Mulder shortly. We look forward to seeing your reports.

(The elevator rings and the door slides open. Scully steps out into the basement and comes to an office secluded in the back. She knocks on the door.)

SCULLY: Agent Mulder. I’m Dana Scully, I’ve been assigned to work with you. (He shakes her hand.)

MULDER: Oh, isn’t it nice to be suddenly so highly regarded? So, who did you tick off to get stuck with this detail, Scully?

SCULLY: Actually, I’m looking forward to working with you. I’ve heard a lot about you.

MULDER: Oh, really? I was under the impression… that you were sent to spy on me. (He smiles.)

SCULLY: Do you have a theory?

MULDER: I have plenty of theories. (He walks over to her) Have you heard of PKBoK?

SCULLY: I’ve heard it’s a new initiative around a body of knowledge (BoK) for business process knowledge created by a broad community.

MULDER: A broad community… Are you sure?

SCULLY: What are you implying?

MULDER: Take a look at the PKBoK management team… Where are most of them from?

SCULLY: Canada, but that does not..

MULDER: Now look at the people participating… Where are most of them from?

SCULLY: Canada, but..

MULDER: Look at the sponsors – Where are they from?

SCULLY: Ok, Canada again, so what are you implying..

MULDER: The Canadians have taken control of the PKBoK.

SCULLY: What’s wrong with Canadians?.

MULDER: Nothing is wrong, but doesn’t it strike you a bid odd that a collaboration community project is managed, sponsored, promoted by one country?

SCULLY: Statistically, I would have to say that it looks a bit odd…

(He nods, having expected that answer.)

MULDER: Now, when convention and science offer us no answers, might we not finally turn to the fantastic as a plausibility?

SCULLY: But why would the Canadians try to take over BPM?

MULDER: That’s classified government information I’ve being trying to access, but someone has been blocking my attempts to get at it.

SCULLY: Who? I don’t understand.(She sits up a little.)

MULDER: Someone at a higher level of power is preventing collaboration on the PKBoK. The only reason I’ve been allowed to continue with my work is because I’ve made connections in congress.

SCULLY: It doesn’t make sense. Why create a collaboration project without collaborating ?

(He moves closer, kneeling.)

MULDER: Listen to me, Scully, this thing exists. The government knows about it, and I got to know what they’re protecting. This is as close as I’ve ever gotten to it. The truth is out there…


Responses

  1. Hi Adam:

    In my opinion this PKBOK should not exist as I expressed in this article.

    http://ultrabpm.wordpress.com/2010/11/12/why-we-dont-need-a-body-of-knowledge-for-bpm/

    Regarding your brilliant argument I just add the following quote:

    – Why according to the referenced paper: “The ABPMP’s BoK is critically evaluated using this framework, calling for the need for a more rigorous and relevant BoK for BPM.”

    Someone from ABPMP told why a spin-off when such a reference guide from ABPM already exists?

    http://www.abpmp.org/displaycommon.cfm?an=1&subarticlenbr=224

    Regards

    Alberto

  2. If I stay involved, do you think I’m at risk of becoming… Canadianised… against my will? Sounds nasty.

  3. Hmmmm… those famous Canadian cities of Hoboken, Canberra, Eindhoven, Brisbane….

    http://www.processknowledge.org/current-status

  4. A very creative article as usual!

    At the risk of being accused of excessive flippancy, should we not be referring to ‘it’ as BPMBofK or as Alberto points out BPM CBOK?


Leave a Reply

Categories

